Melodious Monk


Autographs on CDs available on request - please send your inscription to

All Monk music, a co-production with my CCM colleague, trumpeter and engineer Kim Pensyl featuring all duos and trios. Rusty Burge, vibes, Rick Van Matre, sax, and Doug Richeson, bass.

“…the straight trumpet/piano duets are the riskiest performances, simply because any flaws would be glaring. Pensyl and DeGreg prove themselves up to the task with unimpeachable deliveries…They succeed because they have an undeniable affection for Monk, and their performance is top-notch.” -Greg Simmons, All About Jazz

  1. Monk’s Dream
  2. Reflections
  3. Ruby My Dear
  4. Straight No Chaser
  5. Misterioso
  6. I Mean You
  7. Bye Ya
  8. Blue Monk
  9. Ugly Beauty
  10. Hackensack
  11. Nutty
  12. Ask Me Now

Kim Pensyl, Trumpet
Phil DeGreg, Piano
Rusty Burge, Vibes (1,5,10)
Rick Van Matre, Sax (3,6,9)
Doug Richeson, Bass (4,7, 11)

Sample Tracks

Monk’s Dream

Blue Monk

Ugly Beauty