Whirl Away Digital Download


Autographs on CDs available on request - please send your inscription to philip.degreg@uc.edu

Another New York City project featuring saxophonist Don Braden and guitarist Randy Johnston, and including the late, great Bob Bodley on bass.

“A pleasantly swinging outing…definitely worth a listen.” – Stuart Kremsky, Cadence Magazine

“Truly a supreme accomplishment, Whirl Away was one of the best releases by a Cincinnati Jazz musician this year.” – CityBeat

“Phil DeGreg has forged a singular style with echoes of Bud Powell in his right-hand runs and Bill Evans in his understated lyricism. DeGreg, however, has taken these influences and made them his own…remember the name and enjoy the music.” – David Lund, Crescendo & Jazz Music

“an effective mix of fresh sounding originals, standards, and should-be standards..in addition to featuring DeGreg’s complete command of the keys (both kinds), Whirl Away serves as a show-case for Don Braden…It all adds up to a rewarding listening experience.” – Kansas City Jam Magazine

  1. In A Whirl
  2. Away and Alone
  3. Blues on The Beach
  4. I’m Glad There is You
  5. Gusting
  6. Waltz New
  7. Hustle and Bustle
  8. Everything I Have is Yours
  9. Prelude to a Kiss
  10. I Told You So
  11. Love For Sale

Phil DeGreg, Piano
Don Braden, Tenor and Soprano Sax
Randy Johnston, Guitar
Bob Bodley, Bass
Steve Davis, Drums

Sample Tracks

Hustle and Bustle

In A Whirl

Love For Sale